In Action During 25th Year Teaching at Dieruff (Photo Courtesy of Dieruff H.S. Yearbook)

Richard “Dick” King was involved in the Dieruff High School wrestling program as a coach for twelve years.  He began teaching at Dieruff in 1959, the year the school opened and taught Spanish until retiring in 1993.  He strongly believed and enthusiastically supported his students to do their best in both academics and athletics.

When Coach King passed away in 2013, a Memorial Fund was established in his memory.  The Richard A. King Wrestling Memorial Fund awards an annual scholarship to a Dieruff High School senior wrestler who is continuing with a post-secondary education and who has achieved success both in the classroom and on the wrestling mats.  Each year, Coach King’s wife and son feel very privileged to attend Dieruff High School’s Troika Banquet to honor a Husky student-athlete!

Dick King and Dan Newhard
Coach King with State Champ Dan Newhard (Photo Courtesy of Rita King)
Rich King
Rich King Introducing King Scholarship Award Winner at Troika Banquet (Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)

Scholarship Recipients:

2014 – Emmanuel Shockley – Armed Services

Emmanuel Shockley (Photo Courtesy of Dieruff H.S. Yearbook)

2015 – Jose Berrios – Lehigh Carbon Community College

Jose Berrios (Photo Courtesy of Mel Riddick)

2016 – Rafi Birro – Penn State Lehigh Valley

Rafi Birro in Action in Allen Match (Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)
Rafi Birro with Rita & Rich King (Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)

2017 – Joey Hamoui – King’s College

Joey Hamoui in Allen Match (Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)
Joey Hamoui Working to Turn His Opponent (Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)

2018 – Kevin Thompson – Penn State University

Kevin Thompson Looks Over as Rich King Announces Kevin as 2018 King Memorial Wrestling Award Recipient (Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)
Rich King & Kevin Thompson After Leaving the Stage (Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)

2019 – Michael Colon – Penn State University

Michael Colon – 2019 Scholarship Recipient (Photo Courtesy of Dieruff HS Website)

2020 – Karam Chakif – Lehigh University

Karam Chakif – 2020 District 11 & NE Regional Champion
(Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)
Karam Chakif in action at Dieruff (Photo Courtesy of John Hughes)

2021 – Jerry Villanueva – Armed Services

2021 Scholarship Award Recipient – Jerry Villanueva & Dieruff Staff (Photo Courtesy of Beatriz Gambourg-Schuster)